Introverted Evangelists

Found this article titled ‘The Introverted Evangelist‘ yesterday and found it very insightful. On every personality test I’ve ever taken I’ve been an extrovert to the extreme! I love people, I love being around people and never like being alone. Talking to people is generally very easy for me and the instant I walk into a room I have new best friends. Because of this it is often hard for me to identify with introverts.

The main point I liked from the article was:

What is an evangelist anyways? An evangelist isn’t a personality type or a personality disorder, but an evangelist is one who brings good news, both in the proclamation with the mouth and their actions. If this is the case, where does it say that an evangelist is going to be an extrovert or introvert? What if God’s plan was for everyone to do the work of an evangelist? (2 Tim 4:5). Think of the power of the church if we empower both the extrovert and the introvert to be the representation of the good news in the way that God has made them? How many more people would be reached for the sake of Jesus?

We took the youth group to a Dare 2 Share conference a couple weeks ago that fell into the extrovert evangelism camp. During one afternoon we had to go to a mall and share the Gospel with a stranger. Many of the students weren’t very comfortable with this, especially the introverted ones. I don’t think trying to talk to strangers is always the best way to evangelize.

The church needs both introverts and extroverts to be the body. We are different and can and should use our gifts and personalities to God’s glory. I hope and pray I’m able to reach out and influence the introverts I know, but continue to encourage them to live out their mission to make disciples.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. That is a great point. I think Christians had the stigma of be judgmental for so long that the young generation of Christians has swung far away from that. Now we are so afraid to seem like we are judging, condemning, or to be thought of a close minded or unloving that we choose not to speak at all. Being an evangelist by your deeds and lifestyle can be a powerful thing. But we must also not fall into the trap of that alone being our only witness. We can turn away from opportunities where God wants to use our voice by playing the “I preach by how I live” card. We need never forget that “faith comes by hearing”.

    Reply
    • Thanks for your comment! I agree completely with what you said – people cannot come to faith unless they hear. The phrase people like to throw around a lot is, “preach at all times, and if necessary, use words.” How can you preach without using words? Yet as we do it, we should be loving and always pointing to the great Savior who died for my sins as well.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

